being towards death

radically accepting finitude

In memory of Gillian Bennett

Life seems somewhat like a party that I was dropped into. At first I was shy and awkward and didn`t know what the rules were. I was afraid of doing the wrong thing. It turned out that I was there to enjoy myself and I didn’t know how to do that. Someone kind talked to me and made me laugh. I began to understand that actually I had to make up my own rules and then live by them.

I did pick up that I needed to know when to leave, and that is now.

On Monday morning shortly before noon, Gillian Bennett dragged a foam mattress from her home on Bowen Island to one of her favourite spots on the grass, facing a craggy rock cliff, the place she had chosen to die. Bennett, who was 85 and in the early stages of dementia, chose to take her own life with a draught of good whiskey, a dose of Nembutal mixed with water and her husband of 60 years by her side.
_________________________________________________

That’s from the report in the Vancouver Sun and the quote at the top is from deadatnoon.com, the website Gillian made to say goodbye. (I also archived it here. You never know with these things.)

 

 

Information

This entry was posted on August 21, 2014 by in aging, dementia, suicide.